Backup Plan

Let me be honest, my faith hasn’t been the strongest. When I turned 18 I left my grandma’s house with God as my guide and that backup plan in my back pocket. Yes, I am honest. God has never let me down and I knew He never would but sometimes He tended to take longer than I thought that He should. In my short life I have been through enough to know that God is always trustworthy. Yes, I know this without a shadow of a doubt, but I’m prone to be impatient. While I waited for Him to work things out perfectly, as only He could, I would lean back on that back up plan. I have never waited patiently like I knew to do because I’ve never done well with fending off the doubt that comes in the waiting. 

Fast forward to today. I am a wife of 2+ years, I have a new baby, and my maternity leave is almost over. When I got pregnant I was very excited, although I knew that things would soon be changing. The possibility for me to be at home with my baby and continue to work where I did was near impossible, and if it would not work out then I had no back up plan. At the thought I was terrified and at the same time I knew that this was what I needed: pure dependency upon Almighty God. My terror comes from the thought of those student loans. Private college wasn’t cheap and five years of schooling added up. I anticipated that a Christian Ministry major might not financially pay for much but inevitably I knew that was where God was leading me, so I took that route. Now I sit here knowing that same God knew I would be facing this situation, on this very day and time, and still said “GO“. Knowing this gets me past the doubt and fear of not having a back up plan, for once in my adult life, but the fear and doubt is still lingering.

I share this to encourage those who may be struggling with a sense of doubt and fear all while holding onto faith in God. We know that worry is the opposite of faith and many times Jesus tells us to choose faith. Be encouraged everyone! Maybe you aren’t able to see how things are going to work out and maybe, like me, you are without a back up plan; know that God is not panicking because He never needed your help in the first place. When presented with a situation where you are at a lost choose faith knowing that God is still in control. Doubt and fear may not disappear but you can consciously choose faith as often as they come knocking at your door. Faith is a gift from God and it is available at any time day or night. 

Some Encouraging Scripture: When facing worry fear

Matthew 6:34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own”. 

Luke 12:25 “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life”.

John 14:27 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid”.

Hebrews 13:5 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said,“Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you”.

Matthew 6:31-32 “So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them”.

(originally posted: 12/12/13)

Leave a Reply

