Self Acceptance

   In this world we live in it is easy to become distracted from our God given path. We can look in magazines, turn on the television, even walk down the street and see trends and many things pointing to the way “we ought to be”; people with tons of money showing us what “happiness” really looks like. If we are not prayed up and our spirits are low this would be the perfect time for the enemy to tell us that we have not found our God given path. 

        This is something that I have had my share of tug of war with in the past. For example, back in 2012 I decided to stop perming my hair and go natural. I transitioned for 11 months and through it all there were the naysayers. I tried to stay positive and stick to my decision but it was hard, and I broke when Thanksgiving came around. I was sitting in my room thinking about what to do with my hair. The longer I sat the more the doubt grew. Thoughts like ” that’s not natural that’s nappy” and “wow, what a way to represent your husband in front of family” came to mind.  I began to focus on what I thought everyone else might think and decided to perm my hair. After I was done I looked in the mirror and regretted my decision. It was foolish to entertain those thoughts because none of the nay saying came from family at all. 

       That day I made up my mind to live the life that God has given without considering another person’s opinion. I can say that I have not perfected it, but I have found that it is so much easier to rebuke Satan when he tries to tell me I am not good enough. I have said all of this to encourage you to stay true to the person that God has made you. The best way to find out who that is, is by communicating with God on a daily basis. God made you and He knows your ins and outs. He knows you better than you know yourself. Who better to discuss who you are suppose to be with?

            Are you struggling with self acceptance? Are you finding it hard to embrace who you are because it varies so drastically from what you see in the media? I want to encourage you to turn off the television, close those magazines, and open up your Bible and spend some time, daily, replacing those negative thoughts with God’s thoughts.   

Deuteronomy 28:13 (NIV) –The Lord will make you the head, not the tail. If you pay attention to the commands of the Lord your God that I give you this day and carefully follow them, you will always be at the top, never at the bottom.

Matthew 7:7-8 (NIV)-  Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

Philippians 4:13 (KJV)- I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

(originally posted: 1/26/14)

 

Leave a Reply

