A Letter to My Birth Mother

My daughter (on the left), Myself (on the right)

 


Dear Debra C Davis, 

    My purpose in reaching out to you is not to make you feel bad about the path you ventured on in life. It is not to put you down or ask you a bunch of “why or why not” questions. My sole purpose is to find you and maybe learn about who you are, so that I may share things about you one day with my daughter. I also would like for you to know who I am as well. Here are a few things about myself. 

   My name is Quadriyyah Robin Carthens but a long time ago I was born Quadriyyah Salia Robin Bahar. I was born in Queens, NY on July 31, 1987. Present day I am married to a wonderful man and we have a beautiful baby girl named Abriyannah, who will be 3 months old tomorrow. I graduated from college in 2010 with a Bachelors Degree in Christian Ministries. I am a huge people person and I am constantly learning more and more about myself each day. 

      Back when I was in college I began searching for you. I had, and still have, very few facts to lean on, but I tried my best at the time. After I got married I began searching once again and still I found no luck. Now that I have a daughter of my own I find myself thinking about you more often. I have prayed that if you are still alive we could connect and get to know one another in this life. I truly don’t want you to feel like it will be an ambush or that I am going to try to make you go on some guilt trip. I simply just want us to get to know one another. 

       I know that it is a far-fetched idea that I might find you from a simple blog post but I can only hope that you would Google yourself one day and find this. If by some miracle you do come across this post I would appreciate a comment of some sort and maybe we could get to know one another. I want you to know that I am not mad at you, I don’t think you are horrible person, and I wish you nothing but the best. 

     This is such a personal thing but I have secretly been searching, and due to the fact that I don’t know much about her I figured my best chance was to give it a try publicly. I am not trying to make a circus of this but I thought I would try one last time. If you come across this and you know anything that could help me in my search I would greatly appreciate what you have to say.

      

Thanks for reading this and may God bless you and your family. 

(originally posted: 1/7/14)

Leave a Reply

