Lost In Comparison

    At a young age we learn about comparisons. While it can really be helpful when it comes to reasoning, should I save this money or should I spend it now, it can be dangerous when applying it to people. God has made us and none of us are the same in every way. This was done on purpose but I am sure that it wasn’t done so we can compare ourselves to one another. We are all different and we are all valuable. I may not be able to do what you can and maybe you cannot do what I can but that doesn’t make one of us better than the other. 

    Comparing people can be a harmful thing, and I recently found myself doing so without thinking about it the other day. I am kind of embarrassed about this but I want to share my story so you can see how it is easy to do. 

   The other day I was talking to a dear friend of mine who just had a baby. We were talking about our babies and before I knew it the sentences “my baby could do __ by that month” and “your baby isn’t doing __ yet?” were coming from our mouths. Soon after I utter my sentence, I realized what I had said and immediately felt regretful. While we were only kidding around I thought about how dangerous that could be to Abriyannah’s self esteem if she could understand me. I know what it feels like to feel like I am not good enough compared to another person, and I in no way want to make another person feel that way, especially not my daughter.      

This brings me to what the Word of God has to say about it. In 1 Corinthians 12:12-26 (NLT) we find these words: 

12 The human body has many parts, but the many parts make up only one body. So it is with the body of Christ. 13 Some of us are Jews, some are Gentiles, some are slaves, and some are free. But we have all been baptized into Christ’s body by one Spirit, and we have all received the same Spirit. 14 Yes, the body has many different parts, not just one part. 15 If the foot says, “I am not a part of the body because I am not a hand,” that does not make it any less a part of the body. 16And if the ear says, “I am not part of the body because I am only an ear and not an eye,” would that make it any less a part of the body? 17 Suppose the whole body were an eye — then how would you hear? Or if your whole body were just one big ear, how could you smell anything? 18But God made our bodies with many parts, and he has put each part just where he wants it. 19What a strange thing a body would be if it had only one part! 20 Yes, there are many parts, but only one body. 21 The eye can never say to the hand, “I don’t need you.” The head can’t say to the feet, “I don’t need you.” 22 In fact, some of the parts that seem weakest and least important are really the most necessary23 And the parts we regard as less honorable are those we clothe with the greatest care. So we carefully protect from the eyes of others those parts that should not be seen, 24 while other parts do not require this special care. So God has put the body together in such a way that extra honor and care are given to those parts that have less dignity. 25 This makes for harmony among the members, so that all the members care for each other equally. 26 If one part suffers, all the parts suffer with it, and if one part is honored, all the parts are glad.                                                      

SUMMARY

    We all have been made by God and He knows exactly what our purpose is. He knows why He has placed us in the positions that He has and not one person was placed by mistake. We cannot find out our purpose by looking at others and comparing. We find our purpose by spending time with the one who created us. What sense does it make for me to come to you and ask you what my purpose is? None at all. What sense does it make it get jealous of you because you have discovered your purpose and are living it out? None whatsoever. The only thing that makes sense is to consult with the one that created you, God, our heavenly father.

Let us not get lost in comparisons any longer but instead get alone with the one who created us and find out who He created us to be. I pray this will be a blessing to each of you.

(originally posted: 2/14/14)

Leave a Reply

