Natural Hair – Simple Pin Up Updo

 

 

Approximate time needed: 1 hour and 30 minutes  (that is from beginning to end, which includes stopping along the way to take care of my baby girl. If you don’t have to stop then I would say maybe 45 minutes total).

How I achieved this look:

Step 1: Start with a clean, damp head of hair (shampooed, co-washed, and conditioned with my lotions and oils).

Step 2: Section hair into 4 different sections: 2 in the front and 2 in the back. (In a “t” formation)

Step 3: Add additional oil to fingertips and begin making medium sized twist all throughout each section.

Step 4: (optional) Add 3 1/2 inch perm rods to the ends of each individual twist. I didn’t even roll half way up. I only did enough to secure the rod to the hair.

3 1/2 inch rods

Step 5: Cover with a scarf and let it be.

Step 7: Thoroughly oil your fingers and take your twist a loose.

Step 8: Pin and style as you please.

Things that you will need:

-Water Bottle                                                  – Oil of your choice                            -bobby pins

-3 1/2 inch perm rods (optional)                     – scarf

Overall Thoughts

I was pleased with the final outcome, and I like that it did not take a lot of time to achieve this look. My goal was to create a style that I could keep up and rock for 5-6 days.  At night I moisturize with lotion, seal with oil, re-twist my hair, and put on the scarf. These steps will help me keep this style nice until my co-wash day.

I hope that this was helpful. I encourage you to try new things with your hair. Whether it’s a success or a flop, I encourage you to rock it like you did it on purpose.  Have a blessed day everyone.

Leave a Reply

