Day 7: Why The Controversy?

Today is day 7, the last day of the “Feel Good Blogging Challenge” by Alex Beadon. I am thankful for this opportunity, new subscribers, and for all of the support. I really have enjoyed this fun and challenging experience. Today’s blog post requires that I end this challenge by dealing with something controversial. I have decided to give my thoughts on the relaxed hair community vs the natural hair community.

As I was in the transitioning phase I did a lot of research. During that time, I became aware of the natural hair community. I learned about the purposes of oils, creams, and butters, I became aware of harmful ingredients, and so much more.

Then I discovered relaxed women on YouTube with healthy hair. At that time my main go to’s were: ulovemegz and KISSseventyseven. From that discovery I decided that my focus needed to be on having healthy hair and not on fitting into a particular community.

I currently have natural hair but if I choose to relax my hair again, in the future, I do not want to feel like I am abandoning the natural hair community. I am natural because I choose to be, not because I am against the idea of relaxed hair.

When I am asked how do I feel about relaxed hair I say that I am not against it as long as the person is taking care of it. Now I know people say that you can’t truly take care of your hair and put chemicals in it. With that said my answer still remains and I am owning it.

In the future if you see that I have dyed, relaxed, or straightened my hair don’t be alarmed. No, I have not betrayed anyone because I have not made a pledge to anyone except to myself. This hair journey for me is all about health and discovery. On this journey there will be failure and success and to me that is what it’s all about. Personally for me it’s not about picking a team but about self discovery.

God bless!

Leave a Reply

