When Crumbled Cookies and A Mess Are More Than Enough

As a mother, or a parent in general, it’s easy to find oneself constantly running around. In doing so, I often find myself running low on energy,low on patience, low on sleep, basically low on everything. At times when my daughter is sleeping, I have to decide between washing dishes or taking a shower, doing my hair or folding the ever growing pile of clothes, tidying up or getting a nap.

Sometimes, Crumbled cookies and a Mess are more than enough!

When my daughter was first born, I felt overwhelmingly ungrateful if I were to think anything beyond “what a wonderful gift”. The truth of the matter is that there are times when I do feel overwhelmed. There are times when I want a break for myself and you know what THAT IS OKAY!.

Are you like me?

Do you know how I feel?

For those who do not know the feeling please don’t misunderstand me. I don’t regret having my daughter. Yes, she is a blessing and I would never trade her for anything, but sometimes I do find myself needing that moment to stop and catch my breathe. .

I say all of this in order to be transparent and hopefully encourage other parents out there who maybe struggling with the same feelings. I want you to know that it is okay to want a time out. It doesn’t make you a bad parent, it doesn’t make you ungrateful, it just makes you human.

**With that being said, I don’t just leave my daughter alone when I feel these feelings.Sometimes, all I can do is just close my eyes for a brief moment and say a prayer.**

It really does help to know that God can hear me over my daughter’s screaming. 🙂

Thanks for reading and God bless!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-88-89BEE5EA0ADB17E92F000ABABF757DFD

3 thoughts on “When Crumbled Cookies and A Mess Are More Than Enough

  1. Yes ma’am!!! I must agree with you. I have two children. Some have more. It’s hard to get some ME time as a mom. But, it is possible. I call it “Stolen Moments”. I remember praying for someone to come so that I could get some sleep. My husband was working and the dark circles under my eyes were only getting darker. ME time….hmmmm….that doesn’t mean going to work. That means escaping for a little while by yourself. It helps us not to get overwhelmed.

  2. @ Varlisha M – I agree 100%. It’s a blessing to have a hardworking man, but the occasional ME time is definitely necessary. God bless you and your family.
    @ HappyFamily- Agreed! Being a parent has been the most rewarding “job” but the stressful moments are certainly there. God bless you and your family.

Leave a Reply

