Depression: Give Yourself A Fighting Chance

I woke up today and it was a regular day with the family. My daughter and I were watching cartoons and suddenly I felt this sense of sadness. Normally, I would brace myself for the overwhelming depression that I expected soon to follow but this time, I chose to do something different.

Here’s something you may not know about me: I struggle with depression, and I have been struggling off and on since the age of 12.

Before the year began, I promised myself a fighting chance.

Instead of allowing the feeling to spread,  I immediately began to pray. I then listened to some uplifting music that I had already prepared for such a time as this. I also began dancing, which is something I am trying to get back in the habit of doing.

I share all of this to encourage others out there who also struggle with depression. I want you to know that when you feel depression coming on that you don’t have to brace yourself for impact, that you have a fighting chance, and that prayer really does change things.

I don’t know what triggered my depression this time but I did know who to call upon. I have been a Christian since the age of 10 and I am now finally learning how to deal with depression.This never was a battle that I was meant to fight alone. I am by no means a pro but today I tried something new and it really made a difference. Change your focus! Don’t sit and wait to see when it will let up! Go to God at the ONSET and allow Him to fight your battle!

Encouragement From The Word Of God

[Philippians 4:8]  Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

[Psalm 34:17]  The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles.

[2 Corinthians 1:3-4]  Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.

Stay blessed and don’t give up!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-88-89BEE5EA0ADB17E92F000ABABF757DFD

One thought on “Depression: Give Yourself A Fighting Chance

Leave a Reply

