A Christian With Control Issues

Christian and Control issues

Today is the last day of January. You may find yourself rushing to meet last minute deadlines or preparing for those bills that come first thing every month. These are just two examples of situations that may bring about stress in your life if you aren’t careful. I must admit that I have to intentionally focus on the positive much of the time. I tend to panic if I find myself in a situation where I am not in control and have to leave my fate in another person’s hands. Unfortunately, that sometimes leaks into my relationship with God.

This year I have been making a conscious effort to truly trust God in all aspects of my life. It hasn’t been a cakewalk but I am growing in my faith. I am now learning to let go of the control that I have fought so hard to hold onto all these years. In the past, I would face the situation with a sink or swim mentality. Now when I face a situation and begin to get a sense of panic, I immediately go to God’s Word. If you are a Christian who has control issues don’t fight it alone. It is so much easier when you rely on the Word of God to see you through during difficult situations.

Here are scriptures that are great reminders to me: (Try to memorize them if you can that way you have them available to you no matter where you are).

  • Psalm 118:8,9 “It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man. It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.”
  • Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”
  • Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths.”
  • Matthew 6:25 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?”

These are just the few that I have been going to so far this month but there are many more.

As always, thanks for returning to my blog.

Have a blessed day!

 http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-88-89BEE5EA0ADB17E92F000ABABF757DFD
2 thoughts on “A Christian With Control Issues

  1. Reblogged this on dejoke's thoughts and commented:
    This is very encouraging. It is wise to know that we cannot handle everything on our own and that is why we need God’s help. It also helps to know that it is a good way to build our relationship with God.

Leave a Reply

