100 Days of Movement

100 Days Keep moving

Hello, Everyone!

It has been a while since my last blog post, but here I am. While I haven’t been on here in a while I have been posting daily on my main facebook page. Today is day 100 of what I have been calling #keepmoving.

What is #keepmoving? 

It is a journey that I began 100 days ago. I began this journey in hopes of getting better at dealing with depression. In a past post, I have mentioned the fact that I have been battling depression off and on since the age of twelve. As you can imagine, battling depression and keeping up with a fully energized toddler doesn’t go hand in hand. On her second birthday, as I watched her open presents, I silently vowed to get better. I spent months in prayer and one day while she was sleeping I thought back to ways I dealt with depression pre-motherhood. I remembered loving to run, walk, and simply being out in nature; which was something I hadn’t done in quite some time. When she woke up I grabbed her stroller and went for a run and that is when my #keepmoving journey unintentionally began.

What did I do?

This journey was about more than just running. It was a journey that I was going to take with my daughter by my side. I made up in my mind that I would get better and not put motherhood on the back burner. I knew that if my daughter was going to be with me then I needed to make sure that fun and enjoyable things were happening. She likes being pushed in the stroller but even that can get boring. On March 29, we began walking and running. Eventually, that evolved into playing outside, chasing bunnies, going for walks, going swimming, running errands by foot, floor exercises indoors, lifting weights, dancing, or whatever I could come up with that day.

Depression Today

As you probably guessed, no I am not 100 free of depression but I can honestly say that I feel so much better. Before this 100 day adventure, it was hard to get out of bed. I used to wake up each day telling myself that I had to get up, but now I want to get up. I look forward to what the day might bring. I now look forward to what my daughter and I might do during the day. She loves to be outdoors and so do I but even on rainy days we make sure to spend that time together.

What’s Next?

The last 100 days were about staying active and I want to continue that. In addition to that, I now intend to stay active and get in shape and that is my goal for the next 100 days. Today I weight 153 pounds and I want to be down to about 135. Disclaimer: I have not consulted with a physician and I am no expert. All I know is what I used to look like and how I felt when I was at my best. I don’t plan on going on some crazy diet. I am simply making one change for now and that is to drink more water daily. If I am honest with you all, I don’t drink nearly enough water and that has got to change.

Stay informed with Dri

I have decided to begin posting these next 100 days on my facebook blog fan page. Oh you didn’t know that I had one? Click here, then click the LIKE button that way you can stay informed. Besides the daily post, I plan to be more active on there in the future.

Thanks again for all of your support! I am so glad that you take out time to read my blog. I have more in store in the future, so please stay tuned until next time.

Many blessings,

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-88-89BEE5EA0ADB17E92F000ABABF757DFD

 

4 thoughts on “100 Days of Movement

  1. Mother and daughter look fabulous! 😀 It is good for her as much as it is for you. Keep on going, I’m cheering for you both ❤
    I need to be taking in more water too, now that Ramadan is over I can set this goal for myself as well 🙂

  2. Hello Maemi! It is so nice hearing from you. I appreciate the encouragement. I believe that you and I will succeed in our goal to increase our water intake. I am looking forward to getting an update from you.
    Take care!

  3. What an amazing idea! You have motivated me to do the same too. While I don’t think I have depression, I still have my down days with these boys of mine and I struggle through it. I still haven’t lost my baby weight and am just thinking I need a bit more me time to keep sane. I hope you will enjoy the next part of your journey!

  4. Hello, Lianne. You can do it! I totally believe that you can. I understand what you mean about that “me time”. My daughter seems to be going through an independent streak, so I have been able to get out without her lately. If you can’t get away without the boys maybe you can find creative ways to enjoy yourself. It is so nice to hear from you. Feel free to stop by anytime.

Leave a Reply

